Parents are Calling Nee Tattoo’d Edgy Barbie “WRONG, WRONG, WRONG” – Eeeaaasssyyy Now….

Inspired by the Japanese brand Tokidoki, Mattel has sicked a very controversial Barbie on the world.

The $50 limited addition toy sports a punk-chick style pink bob haircut and some fabulous ink. However, I will say that I am disappointed with the fact that this Barbie has still been constructed exactly the same as her many predecessors, presenting an inFEMMously unattainable body image – (HeHe, did you like that one?).

But no, instead of being concerned that their daughters might be more likely to develop an eating disorder or acute self esteem issues, parents only express concern that showing a woman with tattoos is, first of all, awful apparently, but also that it will give  their little angels the sudden urge to wander out and purchase cigarettes and booze, then proceed to partake in illegal behaviour……

Well, thats not exactly how they put it. Here:

– “I think it is horrible and sends the wrong message to young people. In no way should a tattoo be honored.” (One parent)

– “Encouraging children that tattoos are cool is wrong, wrong, wrong. Mattel why not put a cigarette and a beer bottle in her hand while you’re at it!” (Another parent)

It seems as though these people are missing the whole other side of the coin… where perhaps a young girl might look at this Barbie’s style, make a mental note that it’s out there, store it away in her mind next to all the other ones she sees on a daily basis, then become an adjusted young woman who may just take a tid bit here and there from each one and build her own unique style.

I know that in my short 22 years, I went everywhere from looking almost completely like a boy at age 8-10, then went straight to skater at age 11-13 , then went through a short ‘scantly-clad’ phase at age 13, THEN converted completely to uber-girly till about age 15 when I finally settled into more or less what I am now (minus the tattoos and henna red hair that I am currently so fond of). And all along the way, my parents remained completely neutral, never advising for or against any one thing. I’m proud to say that I have grown up to be very confident in myself because I got to test drive a variety of appearances. I think it really helps to solidify ones preferences while also giving one the presence of mind to respect others’ choices.

If you were a parent, how would you feel about tattoo Barbie?

(Thanks to Time, and Google Images)

